“If Allah wills it” sex attacker jailed for eight years

An Algerian man who almost killed his 25-year-old student victim as he raped her in a darkened alley has been jailed for eight years. 

The man, identified only by his first name Rheda, is believed to have shouted ‘Inshallah’ – meaning if Allah wills it – as he attacked his victim as she walked home from a disco at 5am in Hannover.

Afterwards, after badly beating his victim, the 37-year-old man asked if she enjoyed it.

He consistently denied attacking the student, despite the fact he was identified by the woman and had her blood on his clothes when he was arrested.

The young woman, identified only as Lara, said it was the worst moment of her life.

‘He asked me in broken German if I had the time,’ she told the court.

‘Before I could reply he grabbed me by the arm and pulled me down an alleyway. He told me “I need sex”. 

She told the court that she was terrified he was going to kill her during the violent attack.

She continued: ‘Afterwards he asked me if it was good, and if I had enjoyed it. I never would have thought something like that could happen to me. I just couldn’t comprehend it.’

Passing sentence, Judge Stefan Luecke said: ‘The DNA evidence played a key role in this case. But if that was not enough, the woman had also without any shadow of doubt clearly identified the man as being her attacker.’

Leave a Reply

